Things I don’t need…

1) Complications
So, another week and another excuse as to why that STO cover still isn’t finished. Now all the crew images are correct and the Constitution class ship has been included as per the original layout sketch.
This creates its own problem. The deflector dish is hidden behind the security chief there. Which probably means having to make the ship smaller overall to see it just past the left hand side of his head there. As well as the time sensitive nature of the finished article (i.e. unlike, say releasing a comic book based on Tabula Rasa, an MMORPG which closed down two and a half years ago) I probably want to finish this while the weekly series it relates to is fresh in everyone’s mind the star field in the background was only a temporary placement. The final revision is supposed to have the comet in question on a star field as the background as well as featuring the two 23rd century guest stars faces at the bottom right, as per the original sketch. These are all elements I don’t have screenshots of yet and can’t get because it requires time to play through the mission chain again. Not just time incidentally, there’s a bit of a prerequisite here for me to complete my outstanding Captain level missions chain before I start these weeklies lest I gain sufficient XP from the weeklies to out level that content! Additionally, this was supposed to be part of tomorrows STO themed CoHCOMICS update. More on that in a minute…

2) Distractions
By far the (second) worst thing that could happen at the same time as all this is to be invited to beta test an upcoming game.  Now, I’m not saying that has happened because even if it did the attached Non-Disclosure Agreement would stop me from even mentioning that an NDA existed for this fictional game.  What would be especially galling would be to dislike its arcade beat-em up sensibilities as a result of its joint PS3 development, but to be stuck yearning to see more of its authentic in-fiction locations and iconic characters and really enjoying the full voice cast.  Shame about the poor character generation system though.

Luckily all of this is simply a flight of fancy as far as you know.  Incidentally, its “second worst thing” cause the first would be getting BUMMEDINTHEGOB…

3) Problems
Poised as I was to bring a Star Trek themed set of comics and covers to CoHCOMICS this week, that’s just not going to be a possibility.  The initial setup of a new title on the site is obviously more time-consuming than adding another issue to an already ongoing series.  This is made worse by having to create a thematic look for the new genre as well.  Knowing this I started the Star Trek inspired work weeks ago, but since then I’ve realised the background won’t tile properly in the frames.  Given time I could’ve fixed it, but I lost confidence in the quality of the submission itself.  It just doesn’t work as a debut issue and I think the authors lack of exposure to common comic book tropes is pretty obvious, so regretfully I’ve had to let it slip from the schedule.  Luckily I have an inventory of other titles for just this sort of situation so instead we’ll have a regular slice of City of Heroes inspired four colour adventure instead.

4) More time (not)
There just aren’t enough hours in the day at the moment.  Between actual work, preparing for Christmas and all this other nonsense that’s going on I’m run ragged.  It could have been worse.  An update could have broken the boards and left me struggling to find the cause and fix it.  Yesterday.  And that would have been the end of the forum altogether, cause it was only the relative ease of porting them the new hosting that made me bother continuing with them at all.

5) A laptop that freezes and reboots randomly…
Or indeed, doesn’t reboot at all.  It’s not loosing data that will bother me, cause the drive is fine it’s just not having the laptop to do anything on.  Like at least half of yesterday when there really was stuff (see above) I should’ve been getting on with.

3 thoughts on “Things I don’t need…

  1. Pingback: Fuzzy 80s nostalgia | Mark's Remarks

  2. Pingback: It’s about time… | Mark's Remarks

  3. Pingback: Covers for comic books I’ll never get round to producing, part twelve | Mark's Remarks

Leave a Reply

