Fuzzy 80s nostalgia

Good things come in DVD case sized packages apparently.
Look!

At!!

This!!!
Someone had the amazing idea of collecting all the Star Trek comics to ever have been published ever (except the new ones), scanning them and then putting them on a disk for people to read WITH THEIR EYES!
Included in this miracle of modern technology, by way of it being a complete (except the new ones) collection are the DC Comics I sought out and bought when they infrequently made it onto the rack at the chip shop round the corner as a callow youth. This was a special time for Star Trek, Mister Spock had just died(!) saving the ship from Ricardo Montalban and to bridge the gap between that film (newly minted on VHS and ripe, RIPE I say, for home copying to watch time and time and time and time and time and time and time again) and the next there would be all new voyages in four colour format every month. Alright, not so much if you were living in North Ayrshire maybe but I’m sure it was a golden age for the Americans anyway.

Two things occur to me. Three if you count the reason I actually bought this product, which was to have high-res digital version of the covers I’m so found of re-imagining.
1) Adobe Reader on a laptop screen is really a terrible way to view comics books.
2) Except for very specific exceptions, comic books from 15 years ago aren’t as good as you remember them to be.

I’m not sure why either of these points came as a surprise to me to be
I knew there were much better comic reading applications out there and I still have my incomplete, hard-won stack of these self-same comics sitting in a pile in the living room and quickly got bored with reading them once the nostalgia had faded after getting them from my parents’ loft.

Following on from this week’s update of CoHCOMICS, I wasn’t particularly keen to dialogue the six pages of that anthology submission (mostly because the word balloons are custom and each requires eight elements composited to create. I think this guy will be the strong silent type…) as I wanted to post up the different versions of the pages in a future blog to compare and contrast and being on holiday for the next two weeks will give me plenty of time to do it then.

Instead of that then and being unable to progress the STO cover as explained before, I’ve been dong some forward planning and working on the cover for Task Force UK Presents #2, due out around April time.
Unlike the traditional TFUK comics, the screenshots for this story will come from Champions Online. It’s odd that all these years later that when working on it I still run into the same problem I had with the first issues of the parent title, playing the game essentially solo but trying to get screenshots of a team of characters. For the story itself I had help from Julie who used a trial code for the game, and assuming there are any more in future its upcoming move to a Free to Play model will help with any bespoke crowd scenes required, but in the case of the cover I had to spend a huge amount of time getting each character individually to the correct spot, while not shifting the camera.

Cause, if you did mistakenly move it halfway through all of the characters you have to start them all over again.

Several times.

After that editing them all together is a snap. Unfortunately, the image is too short for the page height, so it’s back into the game to get an appropriate background image for the horizon. Then cut out the image on the advertising display screen, pop our own behind the resultant mask and overlay some screen strobing style effect, all in the name of tribute to the original hand drawn cover design (and in case you’re wondering how I link this thing I did today with the Blog Entry title, here it comes) from back in… 1989, according to the Wiki entry.

2 thoughts on “Fuzzy 80s nostalgia

  1. Pingback: Ugh. We’ll just gloss over January, shall we..? | Mark's Remarks

  2. Pingback: It’s about time… | Mark's Remarks

Leave a Reply

