An Adventure in just about Time and not enough Space – Episode Eight

aits

13 hours till deadline
Around 01:00 I checked my e-mail to find a message from the producer in response to my comment earlier in the night that I’ve run short by about a day in terms of build time, but the console will be ready for filming as required, but without lights fitted. He’s decided to put back the filming by a week because I’ve not been able to finish in the two weeks I said it would take.

I feel pretty bad that I’ve not delivered what I promised, despite the 16 or 17 hour days, barely even stopping to eat that I’ve been devoting to it. While it’s 80% there and entirely usable I wouldn’t be happy with it knowing we had to cut corners purely because I didn’t know my own limits.

IMG_3138

Having to return to work the following week means that I won’t have time in the evenings to finish it for his next deadline either and while I could get it all done within a fortnight, my 40th birthday falls on that Friday so I wouldn’t be able to transport it to the studio and begin the couple of hours it will take to set up until the Saturday morning, potentially delaying the start of their filming.

Leave a Reply

