140 Glasgow Science Centre, Halloween Party 2023 – 20th October 2023

Location
Science Centre, Glasgow 18:00 – 21:00
Mission Report
Due to a clash of diaries the first night of the annual GSC Halloween event ended up somewhat sparsely attended this year.
Ironically it did rather mean that those who were in attendance probably got more attention from the public with a lack of named characters. As trying to use the lift in the building is always a load of nonsense the reduced numbers actually made getting around slightly easier and meant there weren’t 20-odd characters milling around the same space all night!

Although I was flying solo as a GB there was a surfeit of willing apprentices, both wearing their mini flight suits and otherwise seasonally attired, especially once word got round that replica “Rookie” name badges were being handed out with the occasional double-dipper trying to chance their arm too. Curiously it was the adults that needed an explanation of what the gifts were, the kids got it straight off the bat (a pun I wish I’d planned in advance) which resulted in an elaborate explanatory mime to one group who spoke no English…

Contrary to my complaints of previous years, the music was much reduced, certainly in volume and perhaps even in venue, which would have made the event much appropriate for the pack sounds had I wired them up, which I hadn’t because… music… and more pleasant in general were I not breaking in a new pair of boots during the proceedings.

Nonetheless the evening proceeded at a rapid clip, the three hours punctuated with an equal number of breaks certainly didn’t outstay its welcome.

During the evening it became apparent that some members of the public had assumed that, like them, I was an attendee! While discussing why this might be it was commented upon that it could be because I was standing somewhat removed from the rest of the costumers. To me there was nothing remarkable about this and I explained confidently that to the best of my knowledge franchise mixing was somewhat frowned upon and indeed at larger events the mingling of different trilogy costumes is generally a thing to be avoided. In retrospect though I had my doubts about my claim and wasn’t sure this is still adhered to, but looking at the photos of the senior club it still does seem to be an aspiration if nothing else.
Personnel
Visual Archive

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.